Faculty & Staff Experts

We’re Happy to Share Our Expertise

Looking for an expert to help flesh out a breaking story? Need background information for a news or feature article? Want to schedule an authoritative speaker on any number of topics? Our faculty and staff experts can help.

The list is organized by academic discipline and the specializations of each member listed. Feel free to contact our experts directly, or contact Lyndon’s Office of Communications and Marketing for assistance at 802 626-6459, or Communications@LyndonState.edu.

Administration

Heather Bouchey, Director, Leahy Center for Rural Students

Bio | 802 626-6615 | Heather.Bouchey@lyndonstate.edu

  • First-generation and low-income college students
  • Pre-K through 16 education models

Atmospheric Sciences

Jason Shafer, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6225 | Jason.Shafer@lyndonstate.edu

  • Forecasting
  • Winter storms
  • Climate
  • General meteorology

Nolan Atkins, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6238 | Nolan.Atkins@lyndonstate.edu

  • Tornadoes
  • Severe storms
  • General meteorology

Business

Ann Nygard, Director, Center for Rural Entrepreneurship

Bio | 802 626-4867 | Ann.Nygard@lyndonstate.edu

  • Rural economic development

Bill Morison, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6468 | William.Morison@lyndonstate.edu

  • Strategic Management
  • Economics
  • Sales and Marketing

Rachel S. Siegel, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6207 | Rachel.Siegel@lyndonstate.edu

  • Financial markets
  • Personal finance

Rod Jacobson, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6484 | Rodney.Jacobson@lyndonstate.edu

  • Information and technology management
  • Project management
  • Operations management
  • Process analysis and management
  • Business analysis and management

Electronic Journalism Arts

David Ballou, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6371 | David.Ballou@lyndonstate.edu

  • Digital photography
  • Still photojournalism
  • Broadcast

Tim Lewis, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6209 | Timothy.Lewis@lyndonstate.edu

  • Journalism
  • Vermont Center for Community Journalism

Explorations

Janet Bennion, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6234 | Janet.Bennion@lyndonstate.edu

  • Nationally-recognized scholar on polygamy
  • Fundamentalist polygynous societies
  • Sexuality and marriage and nontraditional religions
  • Sociology and anthropology theory and methods
  • Gender analysis
  • East Africa, Native America, Mexico: alternative sexuality and nontraditional marriage forms, polygyny, gender and myth, magic and religion

Master of Liberal Studies

Alexandre Strokanov, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6263 | Alexandre.Strokanov@lyndonstate.edu

  • Widely published authority on Russia and the former Soviet Union
  • Eurasian history
  • International travel

Alison Lathrop, Geology

Bio | 802 626-6497 | Alison.Lathrop@lyndonstate.edu

  • General geology
  • Earthquakes

Janet Bennion, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6234 | Janet.Bennion@lyndonstate.edu

  • Nationally-recognized scholar on polygamy
  • Fundamentalist polygynous societies
  • Sexuality and marriage and nontraditional religions
  • Sociology and anthropology theory and methods
  • Gender analysis
  • East Africa, Native America, Mexico: alternative sexuality and nontraditional marriage forms, polygyny, gender and myth, magic and religion

Math & Computer Science

James R. Bozeman, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6489 | James.Bozeman@lyndonstate.edu

  • Electoral redistricting
  • Mathematics of DNA

Mountain Recreation Management

Sean Doll, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6475 | Sean.Doll@lyndonstate.edu

  • Ski industry

Music And Performing Arts

Joseph Gittleman, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6389 | Joseph.Gittleman@lyndonstate.edu

  • Music industry
  • Mighty Mighty Bosstones bassist and producer

Natural Sciences

Alan Giese, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6329 | Alan.Giese@lyndonstate.edu

  • Lyme’s disease
  • Invasive species

Alison Lathrop, Geology

Bio | 802 626-6497 | Alison.Lathrop@lyndonstate.edu

  • General geology
  • Earthquakes

Ben Luce, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6230 | Benjamin.Luce@lyndonstate.edu

  • Former head of alternative energy for Los Alamos National Laboratory, Ben can speak on all aspects of alternative energy, especially solar and wind power

Ian Balcom, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6247 | Ian.Balcom@lyndonstate.edu

  • Environmental remediation
  • Phytoremediation
  • Brownfields
  • Superfund
  • Toxicology
  • Pollution
  • Biofuels

Psychology

Margaret V. Sherrer, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6470 | Margaret.Sherrer@lyndonstate.edu

  • Disaster preparedness training
  • Abnormal psychology (serious psychopathology, e.g. schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, major mood disorders)
  • Dying, death and bereavement
  • Psychological trauma and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Mental health crisis response

Meri Stiles, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-4825 | Meri.Stiles@lyndonstate.ed

  • Child and adolescent mental health
  • Substance use/abuse prevention
  • Mental health treatment manual development
  • Mindfulness based stress reduction and health promotion

Patricia Shine, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6252 | Patricia.Shine@lyndonstate.edu

  • Racial issues in Vermont
  • Anti-oppression work, with specific emphasis on race, racism and privilege
  • Social and political activism
  • Staff supervision

Social Sciences

Alexandre Strokanov, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6263 | Alexandre.Strokanov@lyndonstate.edu

  • Widely published authority on Russia and the former Soviet Union
  • Eurasian history
  • International travel

Janet Bennion, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6234 | Janet.Bennion@lyndonstate.edu

  • Nationally-recognized scholar on polygamy
  • Fundamentalist polygynous societies
  • Sexuality and marriage and nontraditional religions
  • Sociology and anthropology theory and methods
  • Gender analysis
  • East Africa, Native America, Mexico: alternative sexuality and nontraditional marriage forms, polygyny, gender and myth, magic and religion

Paul Searls, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6203 | Paul.Searls@lyndonstate.edu

  • Vermont history
  • History of sports

Visual Arts

Barclay Tucker, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6487 | Barclay.Tucker@lyndonstate.edu

  • Animation
  • Graphic design and illustration history
  • Social media
  • Graphic design
  • Illustration
  • Logos and branding

Harry Mueller, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6272 | Harry.Mueller@lyndonstate.edu

  • Book design and production
  • Calligraphy
  • Typography
  • Digital photography
  • Design for print production

Philip Parisi, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6310 | Philip.Parisi@lyndonstate.edu

  • New media: social media and internet issues
  • Online education
  • Design
  • Design curriculum

Contact

Admissions Office
admissions@lyndonstate.edu
Vail 305
1-800-225-1998