?

Faculty and Staff Experts

We’re Happy to Share Our Expertise.

Looking for an expert to help flesh out a breaking story? Need background information for a news or feature article? Want to schedule an authoritative speaker on any number of topics? Our faculty and staff experts can help.

The list is organized by academic discipline and the specializations of each member listed. Feel free to contact our experts directly, or contact Lyndon’s Office of Communications and Marketing for assistance at 802 626-6459 or Communications@LyndonState.edu.

Atmospheric Sciences

Aaron (Ari) Preston, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6496 | Aaron.Preston@lyndonstate.edu

  • Deep convection
  • Mesoscale research modeling
  • Atmospheric chemistry and climate change
  • Atmospheric electricity

Janel Hanrahan, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6370 | Janel.Hanrahan@lyndonstate.edu

  • Climatology/Meteorology

Jason Shafer, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6225 | Jason.Shafer@lyndonstate.edu

  • Forecasting
  • Winter storms
  • Climate
  • General meteorology

Nolan Atkins, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6238 | Nolan.Atkins@lyndonstate.edu

  • Tornadoes
  • Severe storms
  • General meteorology

Business

Ann Nygard, Director, Center for Rural Entrepreneurship

Bio | 802 626-4867 | Ann.Nygard@lyndonstate.edu

  • Rural economic development

Bill Morison, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6468 | William.Morison@lyndonstate.edu

  • Strategic Management
  • Economics
  • Sales and Marketing

Criminal Justice

Brandon Stroup, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6241 | Brandon.Stroup@lyndonstate.edu

  • Criminal Justice

Education

Tara Fortner, Assistant Professor, Elementary Education

Bio | 802 626-6256 | Tara.Fortner@lyndonstate.edu

  • Elementary Education
  • Graduate Education

Electronic Journalism Arts

Donna Smith, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-4846 | Donna.Smith@lyndonstate.edu

  • On-Air Performance/Producing
  • Field Production

Meaghan Meachem, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6228 | Meaghan.Meachem@lyndonstate.edu

  • Online Journalism/Social Media
  • Photojournalism/Editing

Tim Lewis, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6209 | Timothy.Lewis@lyndonstate.edu

  • Journalism
  • Vermont Center for Community Journalism

English

Andrea Luna, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6239 | Andrea.Luna@lyndonstate.edu

  • Writing/Composition

Chandler R. Gilman, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6243 | Chandler.Gilman@lyndonstate.edu

  • Writing/Composition

David M. Johnston, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6226 | David.Johnston@lyndonstate.edu

  • Philosophy
  • Film Studies
  • Cinema

Elaine Razzano, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6486 | Elaine.Razzano@lyndonstate.edu

  • Literature
  • Secondary Ed (English)

Kristi Castleberry, Assistant Professor

Bio | | kristi.castleberry@lyndonstate.edu

  • English Literature

Explorations

Andrea Luna, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6239 | Andrea.Luna@lyndonstate.edu

  • Writing/Composition

Chandler R. Gilman, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6243 | Chandler.Gilman@lyndonstate.edu

  • Writing/Composition

David M. Johnston, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6226 | David.Johnston@lyndonstate.edu

  • Philosophy
  • Film Studies
  • Cinema

Janet Bennion, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6234 | Janet.Bennion@lyndonstate.edu

  • Nationally-recognized scholar on polygamy
  • Fundamentalist polygynous societies
  • Sexuality and marriage and nontraditional religions
  • Sociology and anthropology theory and methods
  • Gender analysis
  • East Africa, Native America, Mexico: alternative sexuality and nontraditional marriage forms, polygyny, gender and myth, magic and religion

Kevin Farrell, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6248 | Kevin.Farrell@lyndonstate.edu

  • Trigonometry
  • Algebra
  • Calculus

Liberal Studies

David M. Johnston, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6226 | David.Johnston@lyndonstate.edu

  • Philosophy
  • Film Studies
  • Cinema

Master of Liberal Studies

Alexandre Strokanov, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6263 | Alexandre.Strokanov@lyndonstate.edu

  • Widely published authority on Russia and the former Soviet Union
  • Eurasian history
  • International travel

Alison Lathrop, Geology Professor

Bio | 802 626-6497 | Alison.Lathrop@lyndonstate.edu

  • General geology
  • Earthquakes

Chandler R. Gilman, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6243 | Chandler.Gilman@lyndonstate.edu

  • Writing/Composition

Daniel Daley, Associate Professor, Developmental Mathematics Coordinator

Bio | 802 626-6237 | Daniel.Daley@lyndonstate.edu

  • Basic Math
  • Algebra
  • Problem Solving
  • Secondary Ed (Math)

David M. Johnston, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6226 | David.Johnston@lyndonstate.edu

  • Philosophy
  • Film Studies
  • Cinema

Janet Bennion, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6234 | Janet.Bennion@lyndonstate.edu

  • Nationally-recognized scholar on polygamy
  • Fundamentalist polygynous societies
  • Sexuality and marriage and nontraditional religions
  • Sociology and anthropology theory and methods
  • Gender analysis
  • East Africa, Native America, Mexico: alternative sexuality and nontraditional marriage forms, polygyny, gender and myth, magic and religion

Math & Computer Science

Daniel Daley, Associate Professor, Developmental Mathematics Coordinator

Bio | 802 626-6237 | Daniel.Daley@lyndonstate.edu

  • Basic Math
  • Algebra
  • Problem Solving
  • Secondary Ed (Math)

Deborah Hughes, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6244 | Deborah.Hughes@lyndonstate.edu

  • Computer Sciences

Kevin Farrell, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6248 | Kevin.Farrell@lyndonstate.edu

  • Trigonometry
  • Algebra
  • Calculus

Music And Performing Arts

Brian Warwick, Assistant Professor

Bio | |

  • Audio Engineering

Joe Gittleman, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6389 | Joseph.Gittleman@lyndonstate.edu

  • Music industry
  • Mighty Mighty Bosstones bassist and producer

Timothy D. Saeed, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6255 | timothy.saeed@LyndonState.edu

  • Music Theory
  • Piano Performance

Natural Sciences

Alan Giese, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6329 | Alan.Giese@lyndonstate.edu

  • Lyme’s disease
  • Invasive species

Alison Lathrop, Geology Professor

Bio | 802 626-6497 | Alison.Lathrop@lyndonstate.edu

  • General geology
  • Earthquakes

Ben Luce, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6230 | Benjamin.Luce@lyndonstate.edu

  • Former head of alternative energy for Los Alamos National Laboratory - especially solar and wind power
  • Physics

Ian Balcom, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6247 | Ian.Balcom@lyndonstate.edu

  • Environmental remediation
  • Phytoremediation
  • Brownfields
  • Superfund
  • Toxicology
  • Pollution
  • Biofuels

Psychology

Margaret V. Sherrer, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6470 | Margaret.Sherrer@lyndonstate.edu

  • Disaster preparedness training
  • Abnormal psychology (serious psychopathology, e.g. schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, major mood disorders)
  • Dying, death, and bereavement
  • Psychological trauma and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Mental health crisis response

Patricia Shine, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6252 | Patricia.Shine@lyndonstate.edu

  • Racial issues in Vermont
  • Anti-oppression work, with specific emphasis on race, racism, and privilege
  • Social and political activism
  • Staff supervision

Social Sciences

Alexandre Strokanov, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6263 | Alexandre.Strokanov@lyndonstate.edu

  • Widely published authority on Russia and the former Soviet Union
  • Eurasian history
  • International travel

Brandon Stroup, Assistant Professor

Bio | 802 626-6241 | Brandon.Stroup@lyndonstate.edu

  • Criminal Justice

Janet Bennion, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6234 | Janet.Bennion@lyndonstate.edu

  • Nationally-recognized scholar on polygamy
  • Fundamentalist polygynous societies
  • Sexuality and marriage and nontraditional religions
  • Sociology and anthropology theory and methods
  • Gender analysis
  • East Africa, Native America, Mexico: alternative sexuality and nontraditional marriage forms, polygyny, gender and myth, magic and religion

Paul Searls, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6203 | Paul.Searls@lyndonstate.edu

  • Vermont history
  • History of sports

Visual Arts

Barclay Tucker, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6487 | Barclay.Tucker@lyndonstate.edu

  • Animation
  • Graphic design and illustration history
  • Social media
  • Graphic design
  • Illustration
  • Logos and branding

David M. Johnston, Professor

Bio | 802 626-6226 | David.Johnston@lyndonstate.edu

  • Philosophy
  • Film Studies
  • Cinema

Harry Mueller, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6272 | Harry.Mueller@lyndonstate.edu

  • Book design and production
  • Calligraphy
  • Typography
  • Digital photography
  • Design for print production

Philip Parisi, Associate Professor

Bio | 802 626-6310 | Philip.Parisi@lyndonstate.edu

  • New media: social media and internet issues
  • Online education
  • Design
  • Design curriculum

Robby Gilbert, Assistant Professor

Bio | | Robby.Gilbert@lyndonstate.edu

  • Animation
  • Illustration

Related Topics

Quimby Gallery Exhibit Accepting Submissions

Lyndon State Students Support Veterans

"Like This" Examines Structural Violence

New Exhibit in Vail Museum Features Original Balcony Railings

LSC Announces New Faculty, Promotions, and Retirements

Attention Artists: Quimby Gallery Call for Proposals

Green and McGowan Granted Emeritus Status

B.F.A. in Design and B.A. in Visual Communications

Contact

Admissions Office
admissions@lyndonstate.edu
Vail 305
1-800-225-1998