Social Justice Web-based Resources

Ageism

1. Why Should I Care About Elder Abuse:
2. Fighting Ageism

DISABILITIES/DIFFERENTLY ABLED – General

1. Guidelines for Reporting and Writing About People with Disabilities:
2. Disability Rights Vermont: http://www.disabilityrightsvt.org/index.html
3. In My Language (Short video clip that explores differential communication patterns): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnylM1hI2jc

GLBT

1. Trans People Speak (a compendium of video stories): http://www.transpeoplespeak.org/

2. GLAAD Media Reference Guide: http://www.glaad.org/reference/offensive

GENDER-RELATED – Sexism

1. Facts About Sexual Harassment: http://www.eeoc.gov/eeoc/publications/fs-sex.cfm
2. Feminism FAQs (a variety of video links): http://www.gender-focus.com/feminism-f-a-q-s/
3. Why Sexist Language Matters: http://www.alternet.org/print/story/48856/why_sexist_language_matters
4. Gail Dines (website provides links & information regarding the extensive negative effects of pornography in our culture): http://gaildines.com/

RACE/RACISM/PRIVILEGE

1. Applied Research Center: http://www.arc.org/
2. Consigning the “N” Word to Personal History (brief audio link): http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=6559208
3. The Kirwan Institute: http://www.kirwaninstitute.org/
4. The Microagressions Project: http://www.microaggressions.com/
5. NEK Allies for Racial Justice – https://www.facebook.com/groups/218071708318097/
6. Racial Internet Literacy (brief video clip): http://vimeo.com/48821485
7. Rinku Sen: http://rinkusen.com/
8. Showing Up for Racial Justice: http://www.showingupforracialjustice.org/
9. State of the Dream 2014 – Race & Health Disparities (the latest installment in an annual publication that explores the impact race has on a variety of issues, e.g., housing): http://faireconomy.org/sites/default/files/pdf/State_of_the_Dream_2014.pdf
10. Tim Wise (website provides links to all of Tim’s essays): http://www.timwise.org/
11. Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack of White Privilege: http://www.nymbp.org/reference/WhitePrivilege.pdf
12. Vermont Partnership for Fairness and Diversity: http://www.vermontpartnership.org/

SEXUAL IDENTITY

1. Facts: Gay & Lesbian Youth in Schools: http://lyndon.co/1ANj31Q
2. Heterosexual Questionnaire: http://queersunited.blogspot.com/2008/04/heterosexual-questionnaire.html
3. RU12/Vermont: http://www.ru12.org/

SOCIAL CLASS/ECONOMICS

1. Five Myths of Poverty: http://lyndon.co/1wrU0Tt
2. Vermont Workers Center: http://www.workerscenter.org/

SOCIAL JUSTICE – General/Overlapping

1. Paul Kivel (website provides links to essays/information regarding gender, race, economics & religion): http://www.paulkivel.com/

Contact

Brice D Bird, Social Justice Coordinator
Brice.Bird@lyndonstate.edu
Vail 440